September 19, 2016

Congratulations to Christina Theodoris for her election to the UCSF chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) Honor Medical Society! The top 25 percent of a medical school class is eligible for nomination to the society, and up to 16 percent may be elected based on leadership, character, community service, and professionalism. Members may also be elected by chapters after demonstrating scholarly achievement and professional contributions and values during their careers in medicine. The next time you see her, please congratulate Christina on earning this great honor.

MSTP Enrolling Class of 2015
August 04, 2016

UCSF's School of Medicine has officially launched the new Bridges Curriculum. The UCSF Bridges Curriculum is a three-phase, fully integrated curriculum delivered over four years. Components of the curriculum were phased in between 2014 and 2016, and the entire Bridges Curriculum will now launch in Fall of this year.

July 28, 2016

Congratulations to MSTP Alum, Joshua Gordon, who's been made the newest Director of the National Institute for Mental Health (NIMH). Dr. Gordon graduated from the Neuroscience program in 1995, and finished his MD in 1997 before going on to Columbia University for his residency, a research fellowship, and eventually joining the Columbia faculty in 2004.

From the NIH's website:

July 08, 2016

By Nicholas Weiler on June 03, 2016

Joseph L. DeRisi, PhD, chair of the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics at UCSF and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest honors accorded to an American scientist.