July 10, 2015

In August 2014, Geri Ehle became the coordinator for UCSF’s medical scientist training program, where she supports some of the brightest students in the country as they train to become future medical leaders. Her charge is to ensure students in the program are well cared for socially, emotionally and academically during their long and arduous eight years of study.  READ MORE

April 20, 2015

UC San Francisco’s School of Medicine received top rankings nationally in this year’s U.S. News & World Report survey of best graduate schools. The School of Medicine ranked third in primary care and tied for third in research. UCSF is the only school of medicine in the nation to rank in the top five in both research and primary care. The school also ranked in the top 10 in six specialty areas: first in AIDS; second in drug/alcohol abuse and women’s health; third in internal medicine; fourth in family medicine; and sixth in pediatrics.

April 19, 2015

UCSF recently celebrated Match Day on March 20, 2015. The UCSF MSTP is thrilled to announce the residency matches for our 2015 graduates.

April 19, 2015

A research team at UC San Francisco has discovered an RNA molecule called Pnky that can be manipulated to increase the production of neurons from neural stem cells.

The research, led by neurosurgeon Daniel A. Lim, MD, PhD, and published on March 19, 2015 in Cell Stem Cell, has possible applications in regenerative medicine, including treatments of such disorders as Alzheimer’s disease, Parkinson’s disease and traumatic brain injury, and in cancer treatment.