The program leadership includes Aimee Kao, MD, PhD, Program Director and three Associate Directors who are accomplished physician-scientists with complementary areas of scientific expertise: Cathy Lomen-Hoerth, MD, PhD; Mercedes Paredes, MD, PhD; and Dean Sheppard, MD.

The MSTP Council, which comprises the faculty leadership of the MSTP, includes 36 distinguished investigators who are also outstanding mentors. Council members play an integral role in the program by advising students, screening and interviewing applicants for admission, serving on PhD thesis committees, and participating in other MSTP activities.

Aimee Kao MD PhD MSTP Director
Aimee Kao, MD, PhD
MSTP Director


Mercedes Parades MD PhD Associate Director
Mercedes Parades, MD, PhD
Associate Director


Cathy Lomen-Hoerth MD PhD Associate Director
Cathy Lomen-Hoerth, MD, PhD
Associate Director


Dean Sheppard MD Associate Director
Dean Sheppard, MD
Associate Director